NEBRASKA CITY – Candidates are invited for the next Hot Topics forum sponsored by Nebraska City Tourism and Commerce.

Candidates for Nebraska City City Council, Otoe County Board and Nebraska City Public School are invited from 8 to 9 a.m. on Wednesday, March 9.

Hot Topics is scheduled the second Wednesday of each month. It will be held this month at the Morton-James Public Library.

There is a contested seat for first district county commissioner between incumbent James Thurman and former commissioner Daniel Giittinger.

Commissioners Rick Freshman and Jerad Sornson will run unopposed.

There are four seats open on the Nebraska City School Board and nine candidates, including incumbents Kent Blum, Stacie Higgins and Stephen Luther. Teri Stukenholz is not seeking re-election.

Also running are Rick Bennie, Christopher Ely, Melissa McClanahan, Wynee Benedict, Brent Shanholtz and Robert Elson.

Cole Sharp is running unopposed for Nebraska City finance commissioner.

For Nebraska City street commissioner, candidates are Graham Swanson, Kurt Curtis and Joe Chaney.